January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:45 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Garnet looks DR on Polariscope
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 2:20 am 
Established Member

First, I'm a newbie who has taken the 1st GIA distance course (Colored Stone Essentials) and an Introduction to Gemology course at the local university. The text we are using is EXCELLENT and goes into a lot of theory: Gemmology by Peter Read, FGA. Plus, I'm doing a lot of reading and self-education and continuing my GIA studies.

That said, I just got my first Polariscope and decided to go thru my collection of gems, starting with Garnets (my favorite gemstones) to show they were not doubly refractive, and cubic, by inference.

I was blown away when I saw most of them go through the LIGHT-DARK sequence 4X in 360 degrees, as if they were DR. These were definite light/dark sequences of the whole pavillion of the stones. This included Mandarin spessartites and umbalites (combo of pyrope & almondine w/some spessartite). My Pyropes stayed dark on the polariscope.

These garnets are all from a lot of different sources, mainly Thai dealers over Ebay -- the higher volume more well-known dealers. Most of the special stones were hand cut in Czech Republic by, who I believe to be a reputable dealer.

But back to the testing:

SG and RI
I have not tested SG (I don't have a way to do it), nor have I tested RI. I would say that many of these stones, if garnet, would be off the RI scale. But it is a test I plan to do.

DICHROSCOPE
I couldn't see any difference in color on the 2 little squares for any of these stones

"VISUAL OPTICS"
1. I tried to see if the stones had facet doubling. Didn't look that way, but my tired eyes were not sure (if no doubling, probably SR)