January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:27 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Seeking advice for a spectrometer purchase, seting up a lab.
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2021 10:41 am 
New to the Forum or The Quiet Type

Hello, everyone!
First of all I want to thank all of you for creating such a wonderful community with lots of usefull information for experienced gemologists as well as for beginners.
As a former gemology student I met with a situation when not everyone supports the opinion that tradional methods of identifying gems and species can satisfy a customer.
In my case the employers in the gemology company where I work are awared that refractometer, polariscope, etc. are not enough for professional work. No chances to convince them otherwise.
So I was told to make a survey and choose a spectrometer for the lab.
Here is why I ask an advice. As far as get there are several companies specialized in gem spectrometers. Most of them sell hi-end products for gemologists and scientists.
But still there are some low cost offers in the market.
And I have to choose whether to save money and buy an affordable one or save money for the future and buy a high-end one.
Let's say I stopped with CIG GL Gem Spectrometer (around 2k USD) and Magilabs GemmoRaman-532 (around 14k USD). They are both good with databases and offered as "user friendly".
The purpose of puchasing is to sort out and identify gemstones and species. Mostly no need to check for treatment or synthetics. No diamonds as well.

Can someone having an experience using either of these spectrometers recomend me how to act?
Will the affordable one be enough for simple operations like I previously said or should I reassure myself and buy most professional one straight from the beginning?

Thank you in advance!