January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:29 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Suggest a Gemological Microscope for 2020
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:18 pm 
Established Member

After a recent visiting GIA Carlsbad I managed to come home with a GG. Now that my studies are behind me and with the prospect of perusing a career in the field I am interested in purchasing a new microscope. I have limited experience and have much to learn but I would like it have a range from inspection for basic appraisals but also capable of photomicrography.
Price is always a factor but I am also looking to buy something that I will be proud to own a decade from now.
Any and all suggestions welcome :)

Post subject: Re: Suggest a Gemological Microscope for 2020
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 12:53 pm 
Site Admin

Congratulations on the GG!!
Tremendous achievement.
If you live in the Bay Area, I have a GIA Gemolite Mark VII microscope am selling for $1300. I don't want to ship it.
Excellent condition with protective hard carrying case.

If you don't live in the Bay Area Stephen Challener (our MOD) usually has several up his sleeve.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:54 pm 
Gold Member

Congratulations on your G.G.!

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:49 pm 
Established Member

Barbra Voltaire, FGG wrote:
Congratulations on the GG!!
Tremendous achievement.
If you live in the Bay Area, I have a GIA Gemolite Mark VII microscope am selling for $1300. I don't want to ship it.
Excellent condition with protective hard carrying case.

If you don't live in the Bay Area Stephen Challener (our MOD) usually has several up his sleeve.

Thanks very much guys. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole process and am excited to carry my skills forward by starting a small gemology lab where I live.