January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:11 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: facetron or something else?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:41 pm 
New to the Forum or The Quiet Type

I'm new to the faceting world, so new in fact that I still haven't cut my first stone. I'm interested in a Facetron or a machine of equal quality that takes most of the guess work out of cutting. I mine for Herkimer Diamond Quartz crystals and often times I come across a nice sized, water clear shard but I can't sell them. They normally get tossed but then I saw a couple youtube videos on the facetron and decided that I could turn shards into $$. The initial start up cost of the machine is what has been keeping me from faceting. I've emailed the company twice about buying it a piece at a time and have yet to receive an email back. That makes me wonder if I should go with a different machine. I'd hate to email a problem I'm having and not get any customer service out of the deal.

I'm interested in something that's gonna really get me started in faceting. I'd love to build my own but I'm no machinist. Is there a machine cheaper then the facetron that works equally as well or that can be purchased a piece at a time? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Than you for reading and have a great day. Jason :)

Post subject: Re: facetron or something else?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:29 pm 
Valued Contributor

Most faceting machines will cost between $1600 to 5000. Graves has the cheapest price for a new unit I think.

You can also sometimes find a used unit on ebay, craigslist or the USFG mailing list.

I do not know of anyone that would sell the machine a piece at a time. You would need to save enough to buy a machine, new or used.