January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:06 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Fade Testing
PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 10:30 pm 
Gemology Online Veteran

Hi there!!! I'm wondering what the easiest way to perform a fade test on a brown topaz. I've got a large pear cut that I've been keeping in the dark for the past 2 years or so because I've been afraid it might lose color, but I think I'd rather just know and get it over with, I hate keeping a pretty stone under wraps :)

I read that a 100 watt incandescent bulb is an effective test, but that's not something I can get anymore as everything has gone green where I live and you can only buy cfls and leds and such.

Can anyone suggest a method that has worked well for you?

Post subject: Re: Fade Testing
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:17 am 

A friend of mine uses an aquarium lamp for fade testing, which is pretty effective. I prefer direct sunlight, because I do not own an aquarium lamp. Two weeks of direct sunlight is probably sufficient to let you know if it's going to go or stay.
That said, if you know where it's from you can probably have a good guess just from that. If it's from Pakistan, Utah, or Colorado (along with more obscure locales like the Ukraine) it'll fade for sure. If it's from Mexico or Texas it has a shot at not fading.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 8:30 am 
Gemology Online Veteran

I was TOLD it was from Brazil, but I don't really know.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 10:41 am 
Site Admin

What, specifically, causes a topaz to fade or not?
Anyone know?

I found this relative article written by Kurt Nassau in 1996:
Direct Link to article:
Fade Testing: Has The Time Come?
September 1996 issue of JCK magazine wrote:
Fade Testing: Has The Time Come?
By Kurt Nassau*
This story appears in the September 1996 issue of JCK magazine