January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:48 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Buying cut gems and cutting gems questions
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2012 11:55 am 
New to the Forum or The Quiet Type

Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to the world of gems and have a couple of questions for you if you don't mind :)

I'm very much interested in making jewelery and art/display pieces involving semi-precious gems, but have some concerns when it comes to buying them. Many of the cut stones I'm interested in such as garnet or amethyst are often synthetics or imitations. Since I'm interested in a fairly large variety of stones, I'm likely to be buying them from many different sources, and so I don't know how much I can rely on trusting the seller. Getting the stones certified would most likely be prohibitively expense compared to the price of the stones, so I'm wondering if there are any good, basic methods of identification such as using a refractometer, 10x magnification, density, hardness, that are fairly inexpensive and can be used to at least separate out imitations? Also, is identifying synthetics without a fully scale lab essentially a lost cause?

Additionally, I would love to cut some stones, but am concerned about silicate dust and other similar health hazards as well as costly equipment. I've had some experience with opals which I greatly enjoyed, but what are some stones that are relatively easy and safe to work with (in a semi-ventilated environment)?

Thanks for helping me out :)

Post subject: Re: Buying cut gems and cutting gems questions
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:42 am 
Site Admin

There are 4 sources listed on the left for free gemological training.
I recommend the following:
http://www.gemologyproject.com/
http://www.bwsmigel.info/

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 6:26 am 
Gemology Online Veteran