January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:26 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Buying your first Rough...
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:12 pm 
Valued Contributor

Greetings,

I realize I'm still learning, but each area of this topic intrigues me. I recently decided to buy a piece of rough topaz online and was curious to get some insight about it, and what I can potentially do with it. It was sold as a 104.9 carat Topaz with VVS clarity, which makes me wonder why the clarity was listed. Can you tell clarity before a gem is cut (my logic says: no, but correct me if I'm wrong)?
Image Image
Image Image

It isn't obvious from the pictures I've taken, but it appears to have a very slight pinkish hue at the extreme ends. Can it be told at this time what color the stone would have if cut? (i.e. Golden, Imperial, Brown, or whatever colors there are associated to this stone type.)

From the pictures is it possible to tell whether it is gem grade rough or would a lapidary be the best to decide such a fate? Given its relative size, would it be cost effective to get the gem cut or is it best to leave it as a shelf piece? I was thinking of having it cut for a pendant.

There's a lot of surface inclusions, a arc-shaped inclusion in the upper center and a fairly decent sized area that appears to be free of inclusions (judgement made on being able to read through portion of stone.) If there are smaller inclusions that affect the stone's structural integrity, would they be visible as a whole, or is that a risk you take when getting it cut?