January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 1:03 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: A few questions from a beginner.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:01 pm 
Valued Contributor

Salutations,

I'm new to the world of gemology, I've found someone I'm interested in and in the effort of finding something for her she might like, I kind of got hooked on the research of gems, simulants and synthetics. I got a bit of a buying buzz from eBay, knowing that a majority of what I bought was synthetic, but got confused when I read 'Chathum Diffused'. Basically from what I understand about Chatham is he's known for Flux synthetics? The diffusion is what confused me, I think a previous topic here mentioned that it would be silly to diffuse a synthetic as creating it outright would enable full stone coloring, but that's beside the current point. Given the confusing nature of the 'treatment', I'm assuming that it might even be a simulant, instead of a synthetic (30 carat pink sapphire for 19 dollars?)

My birthstone is Emerald, so in looking for one for kicks, I found one that claimed to be 2891 carats or ~1.27204 lbs (2891 / 5 / 1000 * 2.2.) It mentions its a carved emerald, which in searching for similar items appears as though they're junk opaque emerald roughs polished down into a basic shape. Best thing I can hope for is a novelty item. Out of all the 'huge 100% natural emerald' I picked the one that I liked the most (this is a composite image from four images off of the eBay auction, so the topic doesn't rely on a vanishing auction link):